Even when we feel small, God is doing big things: the story of Esther

At work this weekend, a woman prophetically spoke Esther to my life. I’m starting to learn that when God speaks, I need to not only listen, but focus. So, the next few posts are going to be all about Esther. My prayer is that we’ll both learn a few things.

Lately, I’ve felt like I’ve been playing such a small role in the world. I think we can all relate at times. That’s the first thing that comes to mind when I think of Esther. She wasn’t born into a royal wealthy family. There was nothing extraordinary about her.

Then, one day, her life became a whirlwind. King Xerxes was looking for a new queen, and they sent Esther to the palace as a candidate. Talk about a fish out of water! This simple girl was now living in the capital and could one day become queen! People began to notice Esther for her looks and personality. The Bible tells us she became the favorite.  I can’t imagine how she felt, being who she was and being in that situation. I’d be terrified. My confidence would be shaky at best, and I’d feel so small in comparison to the prestige of the King.

Yet, even when we feel so small, God is always doing something big. In the midst of Esther being scared and adjusting to the circumstances, God was already working. He knew what was ahead of her. More importantly, He chose Esther from the very beginning to be in this situation. There’s just so many aspects of this story, and I can’t wait to see what I learn about my own life and what God has for me.

Leave a Reply

