Why Do I Bother?

This is a post I rescued from my old blog. I wrote it back in fall 2011 when I started volunteering for my sorority. There was this one weekend that was ridiculous. I had chapter members fighting about petty things, an “emergency” phone call that was definitely not a real emergency, and a million non-sorority related things to do. I remember stationing myself on the couch and thinking “why do I even do this?” After calming down, this post was my answer.

So, this is my first semester of being a regional volunteer for my sorority. I sometimes deal with not so life threatening emergencies, women sweating the small stuff, and sometimes, just plain old drama. Before this, I was President of my chapter, and I dealt with similar things. My non-Greek friends don’t understand why I do it if all I get is petty arguments between sisters, impromptu phone calls while I’m hanging out with friends, or about 10 emails/texts a day about trivial things. Sometimes, I find myself asking the same question. Why do I bother?

Why do I go out of my way to talk a member through an issue they’re having? Why do I answer my phone when I know that this woman will probably not fully take my advice- she didn’t the first two times I gave it to her. Why do I get so intense about keeping up with the problems people bring up to me?

Because three years ago, I promised to. I promised to care about my sorority, local, national and everything in between. I stood in front of other people and told them I’d be a loyal and faithful person in their life. I promised to conduct myself in a way that is worthy of the badge I am privileged to wear. It’s all because of that promise.

Throughout life, we’ve each suffered our share of broken promises. People who said they’d do something and just never followed through. Think about the Lion King. No, for real. There’s the part where Simba runs away, grows older, and is talking with Timon and Pumba about the stars. When he walks away, he looks to the sky (where his father said he’d be) and says ” You said you’d always be there for me, but you’re not.” Simba knows about broken promises.All of us do. But I believe it ends with me. I refuse to be that person who lets them down. I refuse to let myself down. I believe in the promise I made and what it means to keep my word. If I can’t keep that promise, how can I expect anyone else to do the same?

I don’t want my future sisters to “be in the same boat.” I don’t want them to mistrust outside resources because no one is reliable. I don’t want them to feel like they’re alone. Most importantly, I want them to know that this is a promise worth keeping.

Leave a Reply

