The Ultimatum

This is a post I rescued from my old blog. I wrote it in order to help a chapter member  I was working with express her frustrations with her chapter’s situation. She would always compare it to a dying relationship. So, this is the ultimatum.

I don’t know where we went wrong. Things between us have been shaky for a while now, and  I’m starting to wonder if we will survive. Things weren’t always this way. I remember when things were different.

I’ll never forget when we first met. You walked in the door, and I couldn’t have been happier. I knew we could be perfect for each other  if you’d just give me a chance. I knew you had heard plenty of bad things about me, but I hoped you would take a chance,look past the rumors, and commit to me. Who knew, you could be the one I’ve been waiting for- the one to turn it all around.

Then, one day a few months later, you knelt in front of me and promised to take care of me forever. It was an enormous commitment, and I would have understood if you wanted to wait. But you said you wanted me to be a part of your life forever, that you’d protect me,share what is important to me,and love me faithfully. After your beliefs and the family you already had, I was going to be important to you.

Since then, I’ve done my best to give you everything. I’ve opened the door  to many things, introduced you to people who could help you, and more than anything, I was a source of support and acceptance. I thought that was all we could ever need.

But I’m not perfect. We hit a few bumps,and I let you down. That’s when you started doubting how much I meant to you. You stopped doing the little things that meant the most. Little by little, I  felt you slipping away,but there was nothing I could do. I had to let you make your own choices.

And that’s what brings us here.A choice. We can’t last like this anymore.I don’t want to leave you, but if things don’t get better, I won’t be around here much longer. I can’t hold onto something that isn’t there anymore. This is my last resort.If you still love me and want to make this work, things need to change. You say you still care about me,but your actions tell a different story. Your words aren’t enough anymore.

If you aren’t willing to work for this relationship, we will cease to exist. Please. Don’t just tell me you want to make this work. Show me there’s a way for us to survive. What we have is special. People search their entire lives, and some never find it. So many doubt that what we have is real. Help me prove them wrong.

                                                          – Sorority

Leave a Reply

